Daily Prompt: Aesthetic

via Daily Prompt: Aesthetic

Aesthetic– when googled the following came up.
adjective
1. concerned with beauty or the appreciation of beauty.

noun
1.a set of principles underlying and guiding the work of a particular artist or artistic movement.

In contemplating these definitions I began to wonder what my own asthetic is. What principles guide this journey? And not just in an artistic sense but also in day-to-day living.

When it comes to the artistic life (at least for me) perfectionism is my poison. It’s paralyzing and difficult to shake once it settles in. In day to day life,  perfectionism is nonexistant ( for me) in day-to-day life. In day-to-day living I subscribe to the  “winging it” aesthethic and hope for the best. It’s a bit weird actually. One would think it’d be reversed; perfectionism in day-to-day living and “devil may care,” type of approach to the artistic life.

When one practices their art they expose the very essence of their core. In that exposure, a person’s underlying principles come to light, which, is beautiful BUT dangerous; because in that exposure a vulnerability arises. Once something is exposed to the light anyone can see it and judge it. Perhaps that’s why the inner perfectionist critic raises it’s daunting head when it comes to exposing something that’s been buried so deep inside… it’s a form of protection, however, inadequate it maybe.

Anyways, one aesthetic wish to share is and find myself living by more and more; I don’t want to live with any regrets. It’s what guides my day-to-day actions and artistic tendencies. For me, I don’t want to not do something; only to regret it for the rest of my life and wonder about that “what if’s.”Regardless of whether the decision to act leads to something good or bad; at least I will not wonder about the “what if’s.”

Thank for reading.

 

One thought on “Daily Prompt: Aesthetic

Leave a Reply

